tel. (818) 898-1200      117 Macneil Street, San Fernando, CA 91340
The Engineering Division is responsible for:
 

  • The design, supervision, and inspection of all street, sidewalk, and bike path construction;
  • All City surveying and mapping operations include maintenance of the City’s street and utility records;
  • Management of the storm water and sewers including the design, operation and maintenance of sanitary sewers and storm sewer systems;
  • The review of land use changes for Public Works feasibility;
  • The research and development services supporting the Solid Waste Management Program; and
  • The preparation of various studies relating to Public Works.

CONTACT US

CITY HALL | Public Works Department 

117 Macneil Street, San Fernando, CA 91340
(818) 898-1222 | PublicWorks@sfcity.org 

Monday through Thursday

7:30 am to 5:30 pm

Friday *

8 am to 5 pm

* Note: City Hall is closed every other Friday due to a 9/80 work schedule.

  • WHAT ARE SPEED HUMPS

Speed Humps are asphalt mounds placed on roadways for the purpose of slowing traffic. Speed humps are different than speed bumps, which are commonly seen in parking lots or on private streets.

Speed Humps span the full width of the street, typically 36 to 40 feet. The City of San Fernando speed hump standard is 12 feet measured longitudinally and three inches high. Speed Humps are typically placed 300 to 600 feet apart and are installed on residential streets experiencing speeding problems.

 

  • WHAT ARE SPEED TABLES?

Speed Tables are longer and sometimes appear, to be more flat on the surface, speed humps are used primarily for the purpose of slowing traffic. Speed Tables are more gently sloped than Speed Humps, provide slightly higher design speeds than Speed Humps, and are used at locations where low speeds are desired but a somewhat smooth ride is needed for larger vehicles since they long enough for the entire wheelbase of a passenger car to rest on the top section.

Speed Tables span the full width of the street, typically 36 to 40 feet. The City of San Fernando speed table standard is 22 feet measured longitudinally and three inches high. Speed Humps are typically placed 300 to 600 feet apart and are installed on residential collector streets experiencing speeding problems.

 

  • WHY ARE SPEED HUMPS/SPEED TABLES DESIRABLE?

Speed Humps/Speed Tables can help control speeding on local neighborhood streets: They can reduce average speeds by as much as seven mph. Unlike traditional police enforcement, Speed Humps provide continuous service. They may also help discourage cut-through traffic by diverting it elsewhere.

 

  • APPLICATIONS

  • Residential Streets
  • Not typically used on major roads, bus routes, or primary emergency response routes
  • Mid-block placement, not at an intersection
  • Not on grades greater than eight percent
  • Work well with curb extensions
     

  • DESIGN/INSTALLATION ISSUES

  • Typically 12 to 14 feet in length; other lengths (10, 22, and 30 feet) reported in practice in U.S.
  • Speed hump shapes include parabolic, circular, and sinusoidal
  • Hump heights range between three and four inches with trend toward 3 – 3 ½ inches maximum
  • Difficult to construct precisely; may need to specify a construction tolerance (e.g. ± 1/8 inch) on height
  • Often have signage (advance warning sign before first hump in series and warning sign or object marker at hump)
  • Typically have pavement marking (zigzag, shark’s tooth, chevron, zebra)
  • Taper edge near curb to allow gap for drainage
  • Some have speed advisories
  • Bicyclists prefer that it not cover or cross a bike lane
     

  • POTENTIAL IMPACTS

  • No effect on non-emergency access
  • Speeds determined by height and spacing; speeds between humps have been observed to be reduced between 20 and 25 percent on average
  • Most communities limit height to 3-3½ inches, partly because of harsh ride over 4-inch high humps
  • Possible increase in traffic noise from braking and acceleration of vehicles, particularly buses and trucks
     

  • EMERGENCY RESPONSE ISSUES

  • Concern over jarring of emergency rescue vehicles
  • Approximate delay of between three and five seconds per hump for fire trucks and up to 10 seconds for ambulance transporting patients
     

  • TYPICAL COST

Approximately $2,500 (2010 estimate)

 

  • ARE THERE ANY DRAWBACKS TO SPEED HUMPS?

Some of the disadvantages include:

  • Residents living near Speed Humps must tolerate increased noise levels as vehicles traverse Speed Humps
  • Traffic may be diverted to previously quiet parallel streets in the neighborhood
  • Emergency service response time suffers
  • Speed Humps require signing and striping, which some residents consider unattractive
     

  • HOW CAN I GET A SPEED HUMP ON MY STREET?

Residents have several ways to request for consideration for Speed Humps/Speed Tables on their street. Here’s the process:

  • A resident may request the City to consider a particular street for Speed Hump or Speed Table installation by attending a Transportation and Safety Commission meeting and making a request. Meetings are held on the third Wednesday of each month at City Hall (Council Chambers) located at 117 Macneil Street, by contacting the Public Work Department at (818) 898-1222.
  • The concerned resident may be asked to circulate a petition in the neighborhood which is being considered. The petition will be supplied by the City staff. The number of persons signing the petition in favor of the installation of Speed Humps or Speed Tables must represent at least 2/3 (67%) of the total number of homes along the impacted residential street. Residents submit a signed petition back to the City. City staff will then verify the petition results. If a petition in favor of Speed Humps or tables is received, a speed survey will be conducted to support the residents concerns of excessive speeding. Excessive speeding is defined in the Citywide Traffic Calming Study on file in the City Engineer’s office.
    Once determined that excessive speeds are occurring, and the adopted Speed Hump or Speed Table policy is met, residents and staff will work together to determine appropriate locations for proposed installations.
  • If, at a future time, residents want to remove Speed Hump, they must submit a petition with at least 51% approval of the original affected neighborhood area. If approved, residents must pay to remove the humps.

ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Chris Marcarello Deputy City Manager/ Public Works Director (818) 898-1237 CMarcarello@sfcity.org
Kenneth Jones Management Analyst (818) 898-1240 KJones@sfcity.org
Maria Padilla Office Specialist (818) 898-1222 MPadilla@sfcity.org

ENGINEERING DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Manuel Fabian Civil Engineering Assistant II (818) 898-1243 MFabian@sfcity.org
Patsy Orozco Civil Engineering Assistant II (818) 898-1224 POrozco@sfcity.org

OPERATIONS DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Tony Salazar Public Works Superintendent (818) 898-1298 TSalazar@sfcity.org
Rodrigo Mora Public Works Superintendent (818) 898-7370 RMora@sfcity.org
Lauren Guerra Public Works Administrative Coordinator (818) 898-1293 LGuerra@sfcity.org
Angela Otremba Public Works Office Specialist (818) 898-7301 AOtremba@sfcity.org
Danny Garica Public Works Field Supervisor II (818) 898-1298 DGarcia@sfcity.org
Dale Warren Public Works Field Supervisor II (818) 898-1293 DWarren@sfcity.org
Ramiro Arias Public Works Field Supervisor I (818) 898-1298 RArias@sfcity.org
Frank Avila Equipment & Materials Supervisor (818) 898-1295 FAvila@sfcity.org
Michael Walker Electrical Supervisor (818) 898-1297 MWalker@sfcity.org
Robert Davidson Public Works Senior Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 RDavidson@sfcity.org
James Davis Public Works Senior Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 JDavis@sfcity.org
Octavio Senda Public Works Senior Maintenance Worker (818) 898-7370 OSenda@sfcity.org
Steve Watts Public Works Senior Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 SWatts@sfcity.org
Richard De La Pena Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 RDeLaPena@sfcity.org
Miguel Flores Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 MFlores@sfcity.org
David Garcia Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 DGarcia@sfcity.org
Marcos Llamas Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1298 MLlamas@sfcity.org
Ruben Quintana Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1298 RQuintana@sfcity.org
Jesus Sahagun Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1298 JSahagun@sfcity.org
Frank Villalpando Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 FVillalva@sfcity.org
Alex Mendez Water Pump Operator/ Backflow Technician (818) 898-1298 AMendez@sfcity.org
Engelbert Hernandez Building Maintenance Worker/ Electrical Helper (818) 898-1297 EHernandez@sfcity.org
James Dean Mechanical Helper (818) 898-1295 JDean@sfcity.org
Thomas Flores Public Works Maintenance Helper (p-t) (818) 898-7370 TFlores@sfcity.org

CITY EMPLOYEE DIRECTORY

What's new, you ask? -- Check it out