tel. (818) 898-1200      117 Macneil Street, San Fernando, CA 91340
Public Works Operations is responsible for:
 

  • Rehabilitating and Restoring the City’s Infrastructure (i.e., facilities, streets, water pipelines, sewer system)
  • Providing Safe and Reliable Water Delivery
  • Improving the Flow of Traffic
  • Maintaining Parkway Trees
  • Cleaning of City Streets
  • Overseeing Transportation Programs
  • Maintaining the City’s Fleet
  • Maintaining Lighting and Traffic Signals
  • Managing the City’s Sanitary Sewer System
  • Coordinating Refuse and Recycling Programs

CONTACT US

CITY HALL | Public Works Department

117 Macneil Street, San Fernando, CA 91340
(818) 898-1222 | PWDispatch@sfcity.org

Monday through Thursday

7:30 am to 5:30 pm

Friday *

8 am to 5 pm

* Note: City Hall is closed every other Friday due to a 9/80 work schedule.

The Fleet and Equipment Maintenance Division is responsible for:

  • 28 Police Vehicles
  • 33 Mid-duty Trucks
  • 9 Heavy-duty Pieces of Equipment
  • 25 Smaller, Miscellaneous Equipment
  • 2 Emergency Generators

The primary goal of the Mechanical Maintenance Division is the Preventive Maintenance Program which helps to lower costs by identifying smaller repairs before they become larger and expensive repairs. 

Other responsibilities include record keeping for the State Biennial Inspection of Terminals (BIT) Program, Air Quality Management District (AQMD) Annual Survey of Fleets-Rule 1190, Annual SMOG certification and all records of hazardous materials such as waste oil, used solvents, clarifier, used batteries, and maintaining copies of all manifests.

The Division keeps a large inventory for these various types of vehicles and equipment ranging from tires, oils, filters, brakes, hoses, lights, and cleaning supplies. They also keep monthly repair records for each vehicle/equipment by account number and vehicle number to verify proper accounting and a quarterly garage report to stay within budget. 

CONTACT INFORMATION
 

Frank Avila, Equipment & Materials Supervisor
(818) 898-1293 | FAvila@sfcity.org

The Facilities Maintenance Division (FMD) is responsible for the maintenance of:

  • City Hall
  • City Yard
  • Police Facility
  • Park Buildings and Grounds
  • Brand Landscape Median
  • Maclay Median
  • Chamber Building
  • Water Reservoirs and Pump Stations
  • Lopez Adobe Historical House
  • Bike Trail Landscape Maintenance
  • Gateway Landscape Maintenance
  • Civic Center Landscape Maintenance

This Division, through short- and long-term maintenance programs, and thorough better management practices ensures that the large investment in City facilities will be protected. FMD staff effectively utilizes the Court Referral Community Service Program enabling the Division to extend its resources. This program, additionally, contributes substantially in our efforts to complete projects and maintain a higher level of service to patrons.

CONTACT INFORMATION
 

Rodrigo Mora, Public Works Field Supervisor II
(818) 898-1293 | RMora@sfcity.org

Water pollution degrades surface waters making them unsafe for drinking, fishing, swimming, and other activities. As authorized by the Clean Water Act, the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit program controls water pollution by regulating point sources that discharge pollutants into waters of the United States. Point sources are discrete conveyances such as pipes or man-made ditches. Individual homes that are connected to a municipal system, use a septic system, or do not have a surface discharge do not need an NPDES permit; however, industrial, municipal, and other facilities must obtain permits if their discharges go directly to surface waters.
 

Preventing water pollution is a responsibility that requires assistance the entire community. By implementing simple steps in regular everyday activities, water pollution can be reduced significantly.

CONTACT INFORMATION
 

Tony Salazar, Public Works Superintendent
(818) 898-1293 | TSalazar@sfcity.org

The Street Lighting Division maintains and repairs approximately 427 City-owned street lights and circuits and has oversight of the 1,200 street lights within the City that are owned/maintained by Southern California Edison. The City budget includes funds payable to Souther California Edison for electrical power for all street lighting. A portion of these costs are supported through a voter approved Landscape and Lighting Act Assessment.

CONTACT INFORMATION
 

Michael Walker, Electrical Supervisor
(818) 898-1293 | MWalker@sfcity.org

The Street Maintenance Division is responsible for the repair and maintenance of:

  • Over 50 miles of public streets and alleys in the City;
  • 80 miles of City sidewalks; and
  • 10 miles of storm drains.

The duties of this division include administering major projects, such as roadway reconstruction and resurfacing, inspection of utility trenches, and sidewalk replacements. The crews are responsible for filling potholes and making temporary and permanent repairs to sidewalks.

The duties of this division, from time to time, also include emergency clean-up from traffic accidents, spilled loads, and other street emergencies. They provide the setting up and removal of traffic control barricades and temporary parking restrictions for parades, festivals, circuses, and movie filming.

The Division is also responsible for administration of the street sweeping contract with Athens Services, Inc., maintenance of the City’s street cleaning equipment, and collection of litter and debris from all City streets and alley ways. Street Sweeping provides two primary benefits to the City. The more obvious benefit is the collection and removal of paper, leaves, and other visual debris that collect in the gutters. This debris can block storm water facilities, causing localized flooding during heavy rains. An equally important but less visible benefit is the removal of metal particles and other hazardous waste products left by passing vehicles. Although they are virtually invisible, these particles can be extremely harmful to fish and other wildlife if they reach our creeks, rivers, beaches, and bays. Street Sweeping is an effective method of removing both the large and microscopic pollutants that collect on City streets.

CONTACT INFORMATION
 

Dale Warren, Public Works Field Supervisor II
(818) 898-1293 | DWarren@sfcity.org

The Street and Trees Division provides a limited program of tree trimming and general maintenance of all of the City’s trees. In an effort to preserve the City’s aging trees, the Division performs wind trimming and light trimming on branches that are reachable from the ground. The City’s beautiful older trees have required an increased amount of attention and the improved tree maintenance program has helped prolong their expectancy. The City coordinates a tree maintenance program that is responsible for enforcing City policies and Municipal Codes relating to the care and maintenance of City trees.
 

The Division is responsible for the maintenance and care of trees located within the public right-of-way and on public property. This includes trimming, planting, pruning roots, removing trees, inspecting trees, and specializing in tree activities. The Division responds to fallen limbs and hazardous tree situations, which occur with more frequency during storms.

CONTACT INFORMATION
 

Dale Warren, Public Works Field Supervisor II
(818) 898-1293 | DWarren@sfcity.org

ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Chris Marcarello Deputy City Manager/ Public Works Director (818) 898-1237 CMarcarello@sfcity.org
Kenneth Jones Management Analyst (818) 898-1240 KJones@sfcity.org
Maria Padilla Office Specialist (818) 898-1222 MPadilla@sfcity.org

ENGINEERING DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Manuel Fabian Civil Engineering Assistant II (818) 898-1243 MFabian@sfcity.org
Patsy Orozco Civil Engineering Assistant II (818) 898-1224 POrozco@sfcity.org

OPERATIONS DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Tony Salazar Public Works Superintendent (818) 898-1298 TSalazar@sfcity.org
Lauren Guerra Public Works Administrative Coordinator (818) 898-1293 LGuerra@sfcity.org
Angela Otremba Public Works Office Specialist (818) 898-7301 AOtremba@sfcity.org
Danny Garica Public Works Field Supervisor II (818) 898-1298 DGarcia@sfcity.org
Rodrigo Mora Public Works Field Supervisor II (818) 898-7370 RMora@sfcity.org
Dale Warren Public Works Field Supervisor II (818) 898-1293 DWarren@sfcity.org
Ramiro Arias Public Works Field Supervisor I (818) 898-1298 RArias@sfcity.org
Frank Avila Equipment & Materials Supervisor (818) 898-1295 FAvila@sfcity.org
Michael Walker Electrical Supervisor (818) 898-1297 MWalker@sfcity.org
Robert Davidson Public Works Senior Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 RDavidson@sfcity.org
James Davis Public Works Senior Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 JDavis@sfcity.org
Octavio Senda Public Works Senior Maintenance Worker (818) 898-7370 OSenda@sfcity.org
Steve Watts Public Works Senior Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 SWatts@sfcity.org
Richard De La Pena Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 RDeLaPena@sfcity.org
Miguel Flores Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 MFlores@sfcity.org
David Garcia Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 DGarcia@sfcity.org
Marcos Llamas Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1298 MLlamas@sfcity.org
Ruben Quintana Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1298 RQuintana@sfcity.org
Jesus Sahagun Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1298 JSahagun@sfcity.org
Frank Villalpando Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 FVillalva@sfcity.org
Alex Mendez Water Pump Operator/ Backflow Technician (818) 898-1298 AMendez@sfcity.org
Engelbert Hernandez Building Maintenance Worker/ Electrical Helper (818) 898-1297 EHernandez@sfcity.org
James Dean Mechanical Helper (818) 898-1295 JDean@sfcity.org
Thomas Flores Public Works Maintenance Helper (p-t) (818) 898-7370 TFlores@sfcity.org

CITY EMPLOYEE DIRECTORY

How We Roll -- Check Out Our Public Transportation Options