tel. (818) 898-1200      117 Macneil Street, San Fernando, CA 91340
The Detective Division conducts extensive investigations of numerous cases that have occurred and affected the residents and businesses in the City of San Fernando. 
 
Duties:

  • Conduct surveillance
  • Collect additional evidence related to criminal investigations
  • Work closely with other law enforcement professionals from local, state, and federal agencies
  • Write and serve search warrants
  • File criminal cases with the Los Angeles County District Attorney’s Office
  • Release of stored and impounded vehicles

Evidence/Property:

  • Process all incoming and outgoing found property
  • Process all incoming and outgoing evidence related to a crime
  • Prepare evidence for court and crime lab
  • Process subpoenas

CONTACT US

POLICE FACILITY | Detective Division
910 First Street, San Fernando, CA 91340
Christian Colelli, Lieutenant
(818) 898-1255 | CColelli@sfcity.org

DETECTIVE BUREAU
Monday through Friday | 8:30 am to 5 pm
(818) 898-1256

The City of San Fernando currently utilizes the services of Black and White Towing, Inc. for vehicle impounds and storage. 

10857 San Fernando Road, Pacoima

(818) 896-9511

Hours of Operation:  24 hours per day, seven days per week

Customer Parking: Located in front of their office

STORED VEHICLES

If your vehicle was towed and stored due to the following, you do not need a vehicle release from Detectives and may go directly to the storage facility to have your vehicle released:

  • Blocking the roadway
  • Blocking a driveway
  • Blocking a fire hydrant
  • Driver w/valid license arrested
  • Driver incapacitated
  • Abandoned vehicle 

IMPOUNDED/ EVIDENCE VEHICLES 

If your vehicle was impounded, you will need to obtain a release for the vehicle from the Detective Division. The REGISTERED OWNER of that vehicle needs to provide the following:

  • Proof of ownership;
  • A valid driver’s license; and
  • Administrative payment of $35 in the form of cash or debit card (additional $3 fee for debit cards). 

The department will process your payment and provide you with a vehicle release form that you need to take to Black and White Towing.

REPOSSESSION RECEIPTS 

Repossession receipts may be obtained from the Detective Division. License or Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and a valid ID is required.

  • Repossession Receipt Fee: $15 

RETRIEVING YOUR VEHICLE

Once at Black and White, Inc., present the release form (if applicable) and they will charge you a separate fee for the cost of towing and storage at their facility. Please refer to the Black and White, Inc. Fee Schedule below:

  • Initial Storage:  $124
  • Daily Storage Fee:  $39 plus Tax
  • *Additional Storage Fees may apply 

RIGHT TO A POST STORAGE ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING

Per 22852 of the California Vehicle Code, you have the right to a hearing to determine the validity of the storage. Your request for a hearing shall be received at San Fernando Police Department within ten (10) days from the date of notice. If you request a hearing, it will be conducted within 48 hours of the request, excluding weekends and holidays. The vehicle storage hearing is an informal process to determine whether or not a vehicle was lawfully stored.

The hearing can be requested in person, in writing or via telephone.

San Fernando Police Department
910 First Street, San Fernando, CA 91340
(818) 898-1255

Please visit the Forms section below for the current Post Storage Hearing Request form.  
 

Please visit the Forms section below for the current full Vehicle Storage Procedure form.

CONTACT INFORMATION
 

Detective Bureau | (818) 898-1256

PROPERTY/EVIDENCE RELEASE
 

Property/Evidence is released during regular business hours and only released to the owner.

SUBPOENAS
 

Subpoena questions may be directed to the Property Control Officer.

CONTACT INFORMATION
 

Chris Rios, Property Control Officer
(818) 898-1277 | CRios@sfcity.org

CRIME MAPS

Crime maps are a monthly view of Part 1 crimes that have been reported to the San Fernando Police Department. Part 1 crimes consist of Homicide, Rape, Robbery, Assault, Burglary, Larceny, Arson and Auto Theft.

POLICE BLOTTER

The San Fernando Police Department Blotter provides residents with information on activity that has occurred in the community. The Blotter data is accumulated from requests for service from the community and offer initiated activity. Sometimes that true nature of the incident differs from what is initially reported. No assumption of criminal guilt or affiliation should be drawn from the content of the information provided.

Nine-one-one is the number to call to get help in a police, fire or medical emergency. A 9-1-1 call is transmitted over dedicated phone lines to the 9-1-1 answering point closest to the caller. Trained personnel then send emergency help as needed.

CLICK HERE to learn more  

El nueve-once es el número de teléfono para recibir asistencia policiaca, de incendio o emergencia médica. La llamada al 9-1-1 se trasmite sobre una línea telefónica dedicada al  centro del 9-1-1 más cercano. Personal entrenado  manda  la asistencia de emergencia necesaria.

Haga clic aquí para saber mas  

The San Fernando Police Department is always looking for qualified and motivated individuals to become Police Officers.

LATERAL ENTRY: Applicants must be currently employed as a full-time sworn paid Police Officer in the State of California with a Municipal, County or State law enforcement agency and have passed that department's probation period. Applicant shall possess a California POST basic certificate.

PRE-SERVICE TRAINED: In addition to the minimum qualifications included in the job bulletin, applicant must be enrolled at the time of application, or have successfully completed within the twelve month period immediately prior to date of application, a POST approved police officer training academy program; and have not served as a sworn police officer for a law enforcement agency. A reserve police officer training academy is not acceptable. Successful completion of the academy is required prior to appointment.

ENTRY LEVEL: The City of San Fernando is also accepting applications for entry level candidates on an on-going basis until all open positions are filled. Priority is given to lateral and preservice candidates as described in this flyer. Entry level candidates must meet the qualifications/special requirements listed and successfully pass the oral interview, a PELLTB written examination achieving a minimum score of 42, and complete the Physical Agilities Test, which includes completing the 1½ mile run in under 15 minutes. Additionally, the process will require passing background review, psychological examination, polygraph and medical examination. Successful candidates may then be sponsored into a local police academy as a police officer recruit.

 Anonymous Crime Tips (818) 831-5002 | English, Spanish, Korean, Armenian
 Automatic License Plate Reader Policy CLICK HERE to View the Current Policy
 Disaster & Storm Preparedness CLICK HERE to Visit the Disaster & Storm Preparedness Page
 Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS)  (800) 540-4000 
 Crime Maps CLICK HERE to View Crime Maps in San Fernando
 Earthquake Safety Guide  http://www.areavibes.com/library/earthquake-safety-guide/
 Elder and Dependent Abuse Hotline  (877) 477-3646 
 Los Angeles County Sheriff's Inmate Locator  http://app4.lasd.org
 National Domestic Violence Hotline  (800) 799-7233 
 National Suicide Prevention Hotline  (800) 273-8255 
 Police Blotter CLICK HERE to View the Police Blotter
 Restraining Orders  Chatsworth Court House | 9425 Penfield Avenue, Chatsworth, CA 91331
 Monday through Thursday | 8:30 am to 12:30 pm and 1:30 p to 4:30 pm
 Friday | 8:30 am to 12:30 pm
 Sign up for Public Safety Alerts  http://local.nixle.com/san-fernando-police-department/
 Valley Family Center  (818) 365-8588 | www.ValleyFamilyCenter.org
 Victims Assistance Program  (800) 380-3811 | www.vcgcb.ca.gov/victims 
 Victim Information and Notification Everyday (VINE)  (877) 411-5588 | www.vinelink.com

COMMAND STAFF

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Anthony Vairo Chief of Police (818) 898-1250 AVairo@sfcity.org
Nichole Hanchett Police Lieutenant - Patrol Commander (818) 898-1258 NHanchett@sfcity.org
Christian Colelli Police Lieutenant - Detective Commander (818) 898-1255 CColelli@sfcity.org

DETECTIVE DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Jorge Cervantes Police Officer - Detective (818) 898-1286 JCervantes@sfcity.org
Evelyn Diaz Police Officer - Detective (818) 898-1260 EDiaz@sfcity.org
Hector Torres Police Officer - Detective (818) 898-1261 HTorres@sfcity.org

PATROL DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Peter Aguirre Police Sergeant (818) 898-1284 PAguirre@sfcity.org
Courtney James Chiasson Police Sergeant (818) 898-1284 CJChiasson@sfcity.org
Brian Woodward Police Sergeant (818) 898-1284 BWoodward@sfcity.org
Paul Ventimiglia Police Sergeant (818) 898-1284 PVentimiglia@sfcity.org
Hector Torres Police Officer - Parking Enforcement Disputes (818) 898-1282 HTorres@sfcity.org

SUPPORT SERVICES DIVISION & NEIGHBORHOOD/BUSINESS WATCH

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Irwin Rosenberg Sergeant (818) 898-1254 IRosenberg@sfcity.org

CIVILIAN STAFF

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Sylvia Ortega Records Supervisor/System Administrator  (818) 898-1281 SOrtega@sfcity.org
Elena Gonzalez Police Office Specialist  (818) 898-1250 EGonzalez@sfcity.org
Connie Negrete  Records Specialist  (818) 898-1280 CNegrete@sfcity.org
Chris Rios  Property Control Officer  (818) 898-1277 CRios@sfcity.org
Danette Guzman  Police Desk Officer  (818) 898-1267 DGuzman@sfcity.org
Manuel Lizarraga  Police Desk Officer  (818) 898-1267 MLizarraga@sfcity.org
Mario Mariscal  Police Desk Officer (818) 898-1267 MMariscal@sfcity.org
Marlene Martinez  Police Desk Officer (818) 898-1267 MMartinez@sfcity.org
Jessica Ramirez Police Desk Officer (818) 898-1267 JRamirez@sfcity.org
Genesis Rueda Police Desk Officer (818) 898-1267 GRueda@sfcity.org
Javier Ruvalcaba Police Desk Officer (818) 898-1267 JRuvalcaba@sfcity.org
James Vanicek Police Desk Officer (818) 898-1267 JVanicek@sfcity.org
Anthony Belden Community Service Officer (818) 898-1267 ABelden@sfcity.org
Kathy Cabrera Community Service Officer (818) 898-1267 KCabrera@sfcity.org
Elizabeth Padilla Community Service Officer (p-t) (818) 898-1267 EPadilla@sfcity.org
Christopher Rodriguez Community Service Officer (p-t) (818) 898-1267 CRodriguez@sfcity.org
Alberto Barragan Junior Cadet (p-t) (818) 898-1279 ABarragan@sfcity.org
Edward Martinez Junior Cadet (p-t) (818) 898-1279 EMartinez@sfcity.org

CITY EMPLOYEE DIRECTORY

What's New? -- Check Out Our Latest & Greatest