

CITY OF SAN FERNANDO TRANSPORTATION AND SAFETY COMMISSION

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES SEPTEMBER 1, 2021 ZOOM MEETING STREAMED ON YOUTUBE

THE FOLLOWING MINUTES ARE A SUMMARY OF ACTIONS TAKEN BY THE TRANSPORTATION & SAFETY COMMISSION. VIDEO AND AUDIO OF THE ACTUAL MEETING ARE AVAILABLE FOR LISTENING AT: https://www.youtube.com/c/CityOfSanFernando

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Commissioner Mohr called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. Executive Assistant, Maria Padilla, called the roll call.

The following persons were recorded as present:

PRESENT:

Chair Carlos Hernandez and Commissioners Dee Akemon, Nicole Mohr, and Rudy Trujillo

ABSENT:

Vice Chair Francisco Arrizon

ALSO PRESENT:

Director of Public Works Matt Baumgardnerand Executive Assistant Maria Padilla

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Commissioner Mohr led the Pledge of Allegiance.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Commissioner Trujillo motioned to approve the agenda for the September 1, 2021 Transportation and Safety Commission meeting. Commissioner Akemon seconded the motion. The motion carried with the following votes:

AYES: D. Akemon, C. Hernandez, N. Mohr, and R. Trujillo - 4

NOES: None

ABSENT: F. Arrizon - 1

ABSTAIN: None

TRANSPORTATION AND SAFETY COMMISSION

Regular Meeting Minutes – September 1, 2021Page 2 of 3

PUBLIC STATEMENTS – WRITTEN/ORAL

None

CONSENT CALENDAR

Commissioner Mohr motioned to approve the minutes for the August 4, 2021 Transportation & Safety Commission meeting. Commissioner Hernandez seconded the motion. The motion carried with the following votes:

AYES: D. Akemon, C. Hernandez, N. Mohr, and R. Trujillo - 4

NOES: None

ABSENT: F. Arrizon - 1

ABSTAIN: None

ADMINISTRATIVE REPORTS

- BEAUTIFICATION PROGRAM REVIEW— Matt Baumgardner provided background on the program. Councilmember Cindy Montañez presented the concept. The goal of the Beautification Program is to clean up the neighborhood. The Commission provided input and feedback.
- 2. REORGANIZATION OF THE COMMISSION SELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR (IF NECESSARY) Calls for nominations of Chair: Commissioner Trujillo nominated Carlos Hernandez as Chair, seconded by Commissioner Mohr. Commissioner Hernandez accepted the nomination. Commissioner Mohr motioned to close nominations. Commissioner Akemon seconded by The motion carried with the following votes:

AYES: D. Akemon, C. Hernandez, N. Mohr, and R. Trujillo - 4

NOES: None

ABSENT: F. Arrizon - 1

ABSTAIN: None

3. DISCUSSION REGARDING THE LOCATION OF STOPS ALONG THE CITY OF SAN FERNANDO TROLLEY ROUTE – Mr. Baumgardner provided informational report on location of stops along the trolley route. Request for a potential new stop was brought up at a recent Council meeting. The route was last modified in 2012. The Commission directed staff to review current route, collect data from the service provider on ridership, frequency, inventory of existing stops, resources and surveys. Item to be brought back at a future meeting.



TRANSPORTATION AND SAFETY COMMISSION

Regular Meeting Minutes – September 1, 2021 Page 3 of 3

GENERAL COMMISSION COMMENTS

Commissioner Trujillo saddened to learn of the passing of Gilbert Tewksbury.

Commissioner Mohr wished the City a happy birthday and is proud to be part of the City.

Commissioner Akemon attended an event at the mall and was happy to see restaurants filled and stores being checked out.

Chair Hernandez appreciates the different viewpoints that were presented.

Commission congratulated Chair Hernandez on being appointed chair.

STAFF COMMUNICATION

- **1. SAFE AND ACTIVE STREETS PLAN** Chair Hernandez and Matt Baumgardner provided update.
- 2. RECENT TRAFFIC STUDIES IN THE CITY UPDATE Matt Baumgardner provided update on the studies that were done at Fourth and Fermoore, Fifth and Fermoore, the installation of flashing beacons at Huntington/Griffith, and installation of No Overnight Parking signs at City lots. Collection of data for Wolfskill has been completed but is pending interpretation and analysis. Recommendations for Wolfskill should be presented at next meeting. I

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Mohr motioned to adjourn the meeting at 7:50 p.m. Commissioner Akemon seconded the motion. The motion carried with the following votes:

AYES: D. Akemon, C. Hernandez, N. Mohr, and R. Trujillo - 4

NOES: None

ABSENT: F. Arrizon - 1

ABSTAIN: None

