tel. (818) 898-1200      117 Macneil Street, San Fernando, CA 91340

WHAT IS CENSUS 2020 AND WHY IS IT IMPORTANT?

Every 10 years, people living in the United States—citizens and non-citizens—are required by law to participate in the census. The census aims to count all people living in United States. Census data is used to determine fair political representation in government and the annual distribution of over $675 billion in federal funds to support vital community services. Your answers can shape your future.
Complete your Census Today
Complete your Census Today

HOW DO I COMPLETE THE CENSUS?

Every household has the option of responding in one of three ways. 

HOW DOES CENSUS 2020 BENEFIT THE SAN FERNANDO COMMUNITY?

Federal funds, grants and support to states, counties and communities are based on population totals and breakdowns by sex, age, race, and other factors. Your participation helps ensure the San Fernando Community will receive the funding it deserves for important services and programs. An accurate and complete 2020 Census count is vital to Los Angeles County, as Census data is used to determine how more than $675 billion federal government resources will be distributed each year for the next decade to states and local communities. 
Census data is used to distribute federal funding for:
HEALTH INSURANCE PROGRAMS

  • Medicaid/Medicare Part B
  • State Children’s Health Insurance Program (S-CHIP)
  • Community Health Center Programs 

HOUSING & FAMILY PROGRAMS

  • Community Development Block Grants
  • Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers
  • Foster Care Programs
  • Child Care Programs 

NUTRITION PROGRAMS

  • Free/Reduced School Lunch Programs
  • WIC and SNAP Programs 

EDUCATION PROGRAMS

  • Head Start Program
  • Title I Grants to Local Education Agencies
  • Special Education Grants (IDEA) 

HIGHWAY PLANNING AND CONSTRUCTION

DO I HAVE TO RESPOND TO THE CENSUS?

Yes. If you live in the United States, you are required by law to participate in the 2020 Census Count. 

In March 2020, an invitation to complete your 2020 Census Questionnaire should arrive in the mail. Some households may receive an invitation accompanied by a paper questionnaire.

If you don’t complete the 2020 Census, you may be visited by a Census Taker. 

A Census Taker may visit your home later this year to collect information for the 2020 Census. If they do, check to make sure they have a valid ID badge with their photograph, a U.S. Department of Commerce watermark, and an expiration date. Census workers may also carry Census Bureau bags and other equipment with the Census Bureau logo.

Click Here for more information

ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Diego Ibanez Director of Finance/City Treasurer (818) 898-7307 DIbanez@sfcity.org
Sonia Gomez-Garcia Senior Accountant (818) 898-1215 SGarcia@sfcity.org
Eulalio G. Macias Finance Office Specialist (818) 898-1212 GMacias@sfcity.org

ACCOUNTS PAYABLE & PURCHASING DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Sandra Franco-Rivas Senior Account Clerk (818) 898-7345 SFranco@sfcity.org

BUSINESS LICENSE & WATER SERVICE DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Sandra Soto Senior Account Clerk (818) 898-1245 SSoto@sfcity.org

PAYROLL DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Adriana Alaniz Payroll Technician (818) 898-1216 AAlaniz@sfcity.org

PERSONNEL DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Michael Okafor Personnel Manager (818) 898-1239 MOkafor@sfcity.org
Leticia Lopez Personnel Technician (818) 898-1220 LLopez@sfcity.org
Alannah Caicedo Personnel Assistant (818) 898-1221 ACaicedo@sfcity.org

TREASURER DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Luz Cruz Treasurer Assistant (818) 898-1208 LCruz@sfcity.org

COMPUTER & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Saalex Information Technology Consultant SaalexIT@sfcity.org

CITY EMPLOYEE DIRECTORY

Introducing our City of San Fernando -- View Activities