tel. (818) 898-1200      117 Macneil Street, San Fernando, CA 91340
SAN FERNANDO REGIONAL PARK INFILTRATION PROJECT
 

The City is implementing the San Fernando Regional Park Infiltration Project (Project) in alignment with the requirements set forth by the Los Angeles County Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) Permit and Upper Los Angeles River Enhanced Watershed Management Program (EWMP).  The Project will provide multiple benefits while assisting the City in meeting regulatory requirements. 

Project goals are summarized as follows:

  • Enhance water quality locally and in downstream water bodies (Pacoima Wash and Los Angeles River)
  • Contribute towards the City’s EWMP implementation goals
  • Reduce local dependency on imported water through groundwater recharge
  • Educate local communities through education and outreach
  • Leverage available funding sources
  • Provide community enhancements through surface restoration and improvements   

POP-UP EVENT
 

The City of San Fernando is proud to announce the San Fernando Regional Park Infiltration Project is about to start construction.  A pop-up event will be hosted at Pioneer Park on Saturday, April 2, 2022, from 9 am to 11 am.  Come learn about the Project, the benefits it provides, and anticipated construction impacts.  Field closures are expected from April 2022 through April 2023. 

Learn about this exciting project!

  • Multiple benefits of the Project
  • Environmental impacts
  • What will be constructed
  • Construction impacts and timeline   

SF-Regional-Infiltration-Project-Pop-up-Flyer-(4-2-22)
EVENTO INFORMATIVO
 

La Ciudad de San Fernando se enorgullece de anunciar el San Fernando Regional Park Proyecto de infiltración está a punto de comenzar construcción. Un evento ‘pop-up’ se organizará en el Parque Pioneer el sabado, 2 de abril de 2022 desde 9 am a 11 am. Conozca el Proyecto, los beneficios que proporciona, y impactos de construcción anticipados. Cierres de campo se esperan de abril 2022 hasta abril 2023.  

¡Conozca este proyecto importante!

  • Beneficios del proyecto
  • Lo que se construirá
  • Impactos de la construcción y linea de tiempo   

SF-Regional-Infiltration-Project-Pop-up-Flyer-(4-2-22)-SP

PROPOSED IMPROVEMENTS

The Project captures runoff from a drainage area over 940 acres in size.  Runoff generated within the drainage area will be diverted from three local storm drains, pretreated runoff, and then conveyed into a subsurface storage system for infiltration.  The subsurface infiltration system will have an approximate footprint of 1.35 acres with a dead storage capacity of 9.3 acre-feet and a single storm infiltration capacity of an additional 15.6 acre-feet, resulting in a single storm capture volume of 24.9 acre-feet.  The diversion pipeline is approximately 0.8 miles long with an 18-inch diameter.  Street reconstruction will occur on Park Avenue between 4th Street and 5th Street and on Jessie Street between 5th Street and Glenoaks Boulevard.  The field, baseball field, and surface will be enhanced with new landscape and surface improvements.
SF Infiltration Concept Figure

FUNDING

Funding for this project has been provided in full or in part from the following:

  • State Water Resources Control Board using funds from Proposition 1
  • Department of Water Resources from the Water Quality, Supply, and Infrastructure Improvement Act of 2014
  • Los Angeles County Flood Control District’s Safe, Clean Water Program
  • Los Angeles Department of Water and Power
  • City of San Fernando 

CONSTRUCTION

Construction is anticipated to start in April 2022 and last for 15 months (June 2023).  Partial park closures are anticipated near the baseball field area (as shown in the figure where the infiltration system will be located) from April 2022 through April 2023.

INITIAL STUDY AND MITIGATED NEGATIVE DECLARATION

The California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) Initial Study/Mitigated Negative Declaration (IS/MND) has been prepared on behalf of the City of San Fernando (City) to identify potential site-specific environmental constraints associated with the Regional Park Infiltration Project (Project) located adjacent to the border of the City of Los Angeles, near the intersection of Park Avenue and First Street. This document has been prepared in accordance with the CEQA (Public Resources Code §21000 et seq.), and the State CEQA Guidelines (Title 14, California Code of Regulations (CCR) §15000 et seq)..
 

Click Here to view the full Initial Study and Mitigated Negative Declaration for Regional Park Infiltration Project.

CONTACT US

CITY HALL | Public Works Department
117 Macneil Street, San Fernando, CA 91340
(818) 898-1222
Kenneth Jones, Management Analyst
(818) 898-1240 | KJones@sfcity.org
To Request Service | PWDispatch@sfcity.org 
For General Information | PublicWorks@sfcity.org 
REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS
Monday through Thursday | 7:30 am to 5:30 pm
Friday | 8 am to 5 pm
AFTER HOURS & WEEKEND EMERGENCIES
(818) 898-1267 

ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Matt Baumgardner Director of Public Works/ City Engineer (818) 898-1237 MBaumgardner@sfcity.org
Kenneth Jones Management Analyst (818) 898-1240 KJones@sfcity.org
Maria Padilla Executive Assistant (818) 898-1222 MPadilla@sfcity.org

ENGINEERING DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Manuel Fabian Civil Engineering Assistant II (818) 898-1243 MFabian@sfcity.org
Patsy Orozco Civil Engineering Assistant II (818) 898-1224 POrozco2@sfcity.org

OPERATIONS DIVISION

NAME TITLE PHONE EMAIL
Rodrigo Mora Public Works Operations Manager (818) 898-1293 RMora@sfcity.org
Richard De La Pena Interim Public Works Superintendent (818) 898-1293 RDeLaPena@sfcity.org
Alex Mendez Interim Water Superintendent (818) 898-1293 AMendez@sfcity.org
Angela Otremba Public Works Office Technician (818) 898-1293 AOtremba@sfcity.org
Danny Garica Public Works Field Supervisor II (818) 898-1293 DGarcia@sfcity.org
Robert Davidson Acting Public Works Field Supervisor II (818) 898-1293 RDavidson@sfcity.org
Ramiro Arias Public Works Field Supervisor I (818) 898-1293 RArias@sfcity.org
James Dean City Mechanic (818) 898-1293 JDean@sfcity.org
Vacant City Electrician (818) 898-1293 PWDispatch@sfcity.org
Ruben Quintana Meter Technician (818) 898-1293 RQuintana@sfcity.org
Vacant Water Pump Operator/ Backflow Technician (818) 898-1293 PWDispatch@sfcity.org
Jesus Sahagun Public Works Senior Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 JSahagun@sfcity.org
Octavio Senda Public Works Senior Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 OSenda@sfcity.org
Brandon Rivera Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 BRivera@sfcity.org
David Garcia Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 DGarcia@sfcity.org
Roger Hernandez Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 RHernandez@sfcity.org
Louie Lopez Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 LouieLopez@sfcity.org
Erik Flores Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 EFlores@sfcity.org
Andrew Martinez Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 AMartinez@sfcity.org
Pedro Espinoza Public Works Maintenance Worker (818) 898-1293 PEspinoza@sfcity.org
Robert Cervantes Public Works Maintenance Helper (p-t) (818) 898-1293 RCervantes@sfcity.org
Cesar Lomeli Public Works Maintenance Helper (p-t) (818) 898-1293 CLomeli@sfcity.org

CITY EMPLOYEE DIRECTORY

How We Roll -- Check Out Our Public Transportation Options